

Milestones for Casa Conejo Municipal Advisory Council

2009

- The Casa Conejo Municipal Advisory Council was established by the Board of Supervisors.
- Casa Conejo Graffiti Removal Intervention Team formed and reduced incidents of graffiti.

2010

- Casa Conejo Certified Emergency Response Team (CERT) formed.
- First "Walk the Channel Day" was organized along the South Branch Arroyo Conejo.
- Neighborhood Watch information seminar.

2011

- Landscape Architects presented on appropriate street trees for the neighborhood.
- Moved up the timing of repaving Henry Drive based on resident input to the MAC.

2012

- Organized volunteers to remove bulky items and debris from homes of residents who needed assistance, in coordination with Community Beautification Event, continued annually in April.
- Motivated City of Thousand Oaks to construct improvements on Old Conejo Road to correct long-standing drainage problems on Frankie Drive.

2013

- Designed "Welcome Home" signs that were installed in Casa Conejo at six locations for community identification and to encourage slowing of traffic.
- Successful award of grant funds to study pedestrian/bicycle/ADA path along Arroyo Conejo.
- Initiated erosion control behind backyard of resident after presenting the problem at the MAC.

2014

- New crosswalk at Rudman Drive and Lesser Drive installed, along with painted curbs for loading and no parking, for enhanced safety at Walnut Elementary School.
- Surveyed residents to gauge concerns and needs to better assist community.
- Second "Walk the Channel Day" in unison with a MAC presentation of findings of South Branch of the Arroyo Conejo Multi-Use Pathway

2015

- MAC recommendation to the Board of Supervisors to approve traffic calming measures/no-stopping zones on portions of Theresa Drive, Lesser Drive, and Jenny Drive.
- Provided input that resulted in better design of the Wendy Drive 101 interchange.

2016

- The MAC recommended new traffic signal at Wendy Drive and Gerald Drive was installed.
- Third Walk the Channel Day along with ribbon cutting celebration of the Wendy/Gerald traffic signal.

2017

- Update of the MAC By-Laws.
- MAC input to the Board of Supervisors regarding California American Water's consolidation proposal of water districts.

2018

- MAC recommendation to County Planning Division and the Board of Supervisors regarding the ordinance pertaining to Accessory Dwelling Units in Casa Conejo.
- Fourth Walk the Channel Day along the South Branch Arroyo Conejo featuring Watershed Protection District's Raptor program and Rodent Mesh Pilot Study.

2019

• ADA compliant ramp installed at Wendy Drive and Ruth Drive thanks to MAC recommendation to the County Public Works Agency.

2020

- Presentation of MAC milestones at the Board of Supervisors January 21st special meeting held locally at the Thousand Oaks Civic Arts Plaza, City Council Chambers.
- MAC recommendation to the Board of Supervisors to retain two lanes on Wendy Drive was adopted and incorporated into the County's General Plan Update.

2021

- MAC input to Ventura County Transportation Commission regarding the 101 Freeway Expansion Project.
- Addition of a Student Representative on the MAC from Newbury Park High School was approved.
- The Borchard Wetlands Ad Hoc Committee was established.
- The MAC approved protocols for efficient communication with County staff and the community.
- MAC provided input on County's 2020 census redistricting process.

Ongoing Projects

- Greater Casa Conejo communication with Supervisor, County and City staff, Sheriffs' Department and California Highway Patrol.
- California Highway Patrol speed trailer locations and patrols based on MAC and community input.
- Presentations from various County agencies to provide information and understand community concerns.

Current MAC Members

- Chair Wendy Zimmerman (Councilmember 2015 present)
- Vice Chair Edward J. Villa, Sr. (Councilmember 2009 present)
- Richard Gaz (Councilmember 2014 present)
- R. Scott Horn (Councilmember 2017 present)

Past MAC Members

- Jennifer Lee Clark (2009 2012)
- Megan Sandoval (2009 2012)
- Clara Ann Deemer (2009 2012)

- Janell Smith (2009 2015)
- Dustin Woomer (2009 2019)
- Bobbie Ross-Neier (2009 2011)
- David Ayers (2011 2013)
- Steven Wasco (2012 2016)
- Richard Twomey, Jr. (2012 2016)
- Shannon Prachyl (2012 2016)
- Roger Smith (2017 2019)
- Cecily Rock (2021 2021)