

Associated with the UCLA School of Medicine
A Division of the Ventura County Health Care Agency

2016 / 2017 Medical Staff Committees

BLOOD USAGE COMMITTEE: 1st Wednesday of March, June, September, December. Shall consist of those medical staff members & ancillary support personnel as appt by Chief of Staff.

Chair Evan Slater, M.D.
Contact Janette Oneill, CLS III

BYLAWS COMMITTEE: Meets as requested by Chair or Chief of Staff.

Chief of Staff/Chair Thomas Duncan, D.O.

Contact Tracy Chapman

CME COMMITTEE: Meets Monthly – Committee Roster includes CME Planning Members, Staff, Directors, Committee Chairs and Resident Physicians

Chair Cheryl Lambing, MD
Contact Victoria Yuschenkoff, PhD

COMMISSION ON CANCER: 2nd Friday of Odd Months – 1:30 p.m.

The Membership of the cancer committee is multidisciplinary, representing physicians from the diagnostic and treatment specialties and non-physicians from administrative and supportive services. Coordinators who are responsible for specific areas of program activity are designated from the membership.

Cancer Committee Chairman Shawn Steen, M.D.

Contact Shawn Steen, M.D.

Judy Borenstein

CREDENTIALS COMMITTEE: 1st Thursday/month at noon. At least 7 active staff members selected to ensure representation of major specialties, and the CMO or designee. Secretary of Medical Staff shall serve for one year. Two members appointed each year for two year term.

Chair George Paul, MD
Credentials Coordinator Teri Hartman

EMERGENCY MEDICINE: 3rd Wednesday of Odd Months 7:00 a.m.

Chief/Chair Martin Ehrlich, M.D.
Contact Tracy Chapman

ETHICS COMMITTEE: As often as necessary, but at least annually. Voting Members shall consist of three practitioners, one should be a psychiatrist or psychologist, one RN, one medical social worker (or comparable discipline), one member of hospital administration, one non-hospital local community member at large. Additional members may be appointed by Chief of Staff

Chair James Hornstein, M.D. - Chair Contact Tracy Chapman

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE: 2nd Tuesday of every month at noon. Elected officers of the Medical Staff, Department Chiefs, immediate Past Chief of Staff, Residency Director, Chief Medical Officer. Ex-Officio w/o vote: HCA Director, Medical Directors of Ambulatory Care, Behavioral Health, CEO, Chief Nursing Executive, Chief Resident and others appointed by Chief of Staff. A majority shall be physicians.

Chief of Staff/Chair Contact Thomas Duncan, D.O. *Tracy Chapman*

FAMILY MEDICINE: 3rd Friday – Odd Months - 7:00 a.m.- Department Chief, Chief – Elect, Past Chief, ED Service Member, Medical Director/Designee, Four Department members – serve 2 years each, Director of FM Residency, Assoc Director of Residency, AFMC Medical Director/designee. Ex-Officio: Resident, Family Medicine Faculty.

Chief/Chair Contact Carlos Frias, M.D. Tracy Chapman

GRADUATE MEDICAL EDUCATION COMMITTEE: Quarterly at Faculty Meetings

Residency Director/Chair Contact David Araujo, M.D. Yvette Cortez

HEALTH INFORMATION MANAGEMENT COMIMTTEE: 2nd Monday – Monthly - Noon – Shall meet at least quarterly – Consist of three (3) members of the medical staff, one who shall be the Director of the Residency Program or designee, representatives from medical records, nursing, administration and others deemed necessary

Chair Contact Cheryl Lambing, M.D. - Chair Carol Haydon, Interim Manager

ICU/CCU COMMITTEE - Division of Medicine Department: 3rd Monday - Monthly 12:00 p.m.

Chair

David Fishman, M.D.

INFECTION CONTROL COMMITTEE: 1st Wednesday- Odd Months – 8:00 a.m. – Shall meet not less than quarterly – At least 5 members of the medical staff (to assure representation of Medicine, Ob/Gyn, Pediatrics, Surgery and Infectious Disease), Pathologist, Infection Control Nurse, representative from Administration, representative from Nursing Service, Representatives from the following will be available for consultation and invited when necessary – Central Supply, OR, Dietary, Maintenance, Housekeeping and Pharmacy. Chairman shall be physician qualified by training or experience to carry out responsibility.

Chair Contact Heather Scott
Carrie Serrano

INTERDISCIPLINARY PRACTICE COMMITTEE (IPC): 4th Friday-January, April, July, October – Noon At least quarterly – Shall have an equal number of Medical Staff and nursing staff. Shall have a representative from nursing administration. Representatives from AHP granted privileges in the hospital should serve as consultants on as needed basis and shall participate in the committee proceedings when a member of the same specialty is applying for privileges.

Physician Contact Francisco Bracho, M.D.

Teri Hartman

INSTITUTIONAL REVIEW BOARD (IRB): 4th Thursday - March and September – Noon

Chair Chris Landon, MD
Contact Krystal Clemente

LIBRARY COMMITTEE: Meets at least annually- At least three members of the Medical Staff

Chair Joseph Esherick, M.D.
Contact Victoria Yuschenkoff

MEDICINE DEPARTMENT: Meeting schedule pending revisions

Chief/Chair Leah Kory, M.D.
Contact Tracy Chapman

MEDICATION ERROR REDUCTION IMPROVEMENT TEAM (MERIT): 4th Thursday - Monthly - Noon

Chief/Chair Torri Boghossian, PharmD Contact Vera Barajas

OB/GYN DEPARTMENT: 4th Wednesday – Odd Months – 7:00 a.m. - Chief, Chief-Elect, Past Chief, Director of OB, Associate Director of OB, Medical Director/designee, Rep from Family Medicine Dept, other physicians as assigned.

Chief/Chair Frederick Kelley, M.D.

Contact Tracy Chapman

OVERSIGHT COMMITTEE: AT LEAST QUARTERLY – 7:00 a.m.- Shall be comprised of two members of the Board of Supervisors of Ventura County; Hospital Administrator, HCA Director, Chief of Staff, Past Chief of Staff, Chief of Staff Elect and Medical directors.

Chair Peter Foy- Board of Supervisors

Contact

PEDIATRIC DEPARTMENT: 4th Tuesday – Odd Months – Noon

Chief/Chair Todd Flosi, M.D Contact Tracy Chapman

PHARMACY & THERAPEUTICS: 1st Wednesday – Noon – Monthly – At least five members of the medical staff as well as Chief Pharmacist/Designee, rep from hosp administration as ex-officio and member of Nursing as consultant.

Chair Todd Flosi, M.D.
Contact Vera Barajas

PERFORMANCE IMPROVEMENT COORDINATING COUNCIL (PICC): 2nd Wednesday – Monthly – 12:15 p.m. – Reps from Administration, Nursing and Medical Staff. At least (25%) shall be medical staff. Medical Staff are department Chief Elects

Chair Suzanne Anders, CHO Quality
Contact Carrie Serrano

PSYCHIATRY DEPARTMENT: 3rd Tuesday – Odd Months - Noon.

Chief/Chair Stephen Art Hughes, M.D.
Contact Tracy Chapman

PSYCHOLOGY DEPARTMENT: 4th Wed. – Even Months – 12:30 p.m.

Chief/Chair Ellen Weissman, Psy.D.

Contact Tracy Chapman

SURGERY DEPARTMENT: – 1st Wednesday – Even Months- 5:00 p.m.

Chief/Chair Forrest Hsu, M.D.
Contact Tracy Chapman

TRAUMA PROGRAM OPERATIONAL PROCESS PERFORMANCE COMMITTEE (TOPPs) - 2nd

Wednesday - Even Months at 7:00am - Sub Committee of Medical Executive Committee

Co-Chair
Co-Char
Contact

Thomas Duncan, DO – Co Chair
Javier Romero, MD - Co Chair
Marie Pelkola, RN

UTILIZATION REVIEW: 3RD Tuesday – Quarterly - Feb, May, Aug., Nov. - Noon – The committee shall consist of at least two members of the active staff and representatives from utilization review, medical records, nursing and a resident.

Chair Leah Kory, M.D.

Contact Geneveve Zapata, RN

WELL-BEING: Annually and as often as necessary – No fewer than three active Medical Staff members, a majority of whom, shall be physicians and one of whom shall be a psychiatrist or psychologist whenever possible. Except for initial appointments, each member shall serve a term of three years. Insofar as possible, members of this committee shall not actively participate on other peer review or Quality Improvement Committees while serving on this committee. There is no limit to the number of terms that one may serve.

Chair John Prichard, MD Contact Ron Bale, PhD