

Commissioners Vincent Stewart – Chair Mic Farris – Vice Chair James Vandenberg Donald Becker Patricia S. Parham

MINUTES REGULAR BUSINESS MEETING Thursday, July 27, 2023 9:00 a.m. LOWER PLAZA ASSEMBLY ROOM Hall of Administration

- I. CALL TO ORDER Chair Stewart called the meeting to order at 9:06 a.m.
- II. ROLL CALL Commissioners Present: Chair Stewart, Vice-Chair Farris, Commissioners Vandenberg and Parham; Staff Present: Cheryl Shaw, Commission Assistant, Joseph Randazzo, Law Advisor and Mike Curnow, Labor Relations.

III. PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

IV. MINUTES FOR APPROVAL – Regular Business Meeting of May 25, 2023 and Special Business Meeting of May 25, 2023.

The minutes of the regular business meeting of May 25, 2023 were approved on motion by Commissioner Parham, seconded by Commissioner Vandenberg. The minutes of the special meeting of May 25, 2023 were approved on motion by Vice-Chair Farris, seconded by Commissioner Vandenberg.

v. **PUBLIC COMMENTS** – None.

VI. **OLD BUSINESS** – Report from staff on Commission's requests for information regarding County revision to Employee Complaint Resolution Process brochure and provisions in Memoranda of Agreements and the County's Personnel Policies and Regulations pertaining to anti-discrimination and harassment.

Mr. Randazzo and Ms. Shaw responded to questions.

Minutes Civil Service Commission July 27, 2023

VII. **NEW BUSINESS** - Election of Chair and Vice-Chair of the Commission Pursuant to Article 3, Section 1 of the Commission's Bylaws.

> Commissioner Vandenberg nominated Chair Stewart to continue to serve as Chair of the Commission. Hearing no other nominations, the nominations were closed. Upon motion by Commissioner Vandenberg, seconded by Vice-Chair Farris, the Commission unanimously voted to re-elect Chair Stewart as Chair of the Commission.

> Chair Stewart nominated Vice-Chair Farris to continue to serve as Vice-Chair of the Commission. Hearing no other nominations, the nominations were closed. Upon motion by Commissioner Parham, seconded by Chair Stewart, the Commission voted by majority vote to re-elect Vice-Chair Farris as Vice-Chair of the Commission.

VIII. INFORMATIONAL – None.

IX. COMMISSION/STAFF COMMENTS

A. Presentation of Report to the Board of Supervisors of the Commission's Activities for Fiscal Year End.

Upon motion by Commissioner Vandenberg, seconded by Vice-Chair Farris, the Commission unanimously voted to direct the Chair to sign the letter to the Board of Supervisors.

- **B.** Congratulations to Commissioner Vandenberg on his re-appointment to the Commission.
- X. ADJOURNMENT The meeting was adjourned at 9:32 a.m.